CSM Library: ENGL C1000 (Whittle-Shaw) : Start Your Research

Keywords

Keywords can help you narrow down the results you get in databases Getting good search results also depends on the keywords you enter. The main point of the essay is to see how the patterns help you "make sense of the novel's big ideas such as identity, storytelling, and urban life." related to urban Native American experience.

Your keywords can be combined with a pattern mentioned in step 1 of your assignment with an idea mentioned in step 3 of your assignment

Step 1: Using one of the patterns mentioned in step #1 of your assignment

Step 2: Trace that Pattern

Step 3: Analyze Pattern or Strand with an idea discussed

For example, here is a OneSearch result with the following keywords.

Nature AND Connections to the environment can be connected with the keyword "Native American"

Brainstorming

OneSearch
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
American Indian Experience
An encyclopedia that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.

Databases that will best support your assignment

JSTOR
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Over 140,000 easy to access online books. Browse by subjects - literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology - or use the search box.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
ProQuest Diversity Collection
Journals, magazines and newspapers to highlight diverse and independent voices. Includes collections covering alternative and independent publications, ethnic and minority publications, and gender studies.
AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal that publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world.
OneSearch
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Finding Books

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Over 140,000 easy to access online books. Browse by subjects - literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology - or use the search box.
OneSearch
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.