CSM Library: ESL400 (Kaiser): Search on Your Own: Databases & Articles

CSM Library databases contain articles from newspapers, journals, and magazines
You can use keywords to search databases, and add more specific terms to narrow your search as you go
Use filters and limits to adjust your results, such as limit by date (e.g. articles after 2020) or publication type (e.g. magazines only)

Search terms to try in the databases
Prompt 1	Prompt 2	Prompt 3	Prompt 4
indigenous	gift economies, gift economy	collective resource management	indigenous science
nature	matriarchal economies	shared resource management	non-western science
sustainability, sustainable	feminist economies	holistic resource management	native american science
relationship to nature	capitalism alternatives	natural resource management	ethnnobotany
		community management	herbalism
		tragedy of the commons	non-western medicine

OneSearch
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.