Skip to Main Content

SOCI 141 (Mathur)

Culture and Social Issues Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture by McDonogh, Gary W. Gregg, Robert Wong, Cindy H.
Call Number: Online
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Jeffrey Lehman (Editor); Robert Dassanowsky (Editor)
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 1999
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2003
Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing by Johnson, Malcolm Lewis
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by Davis, Edward L.
Call Number: Online
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia by Peek, Philip M. Yankah, Kwesi
Call Number: Online
American Folklore: An Encyclopedia by Brunvand, Jan Harold
Call Number: Online
Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations by Mjagkij, Nina
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of North American Indians by Hoxie, Frederick E.
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media by Stout, Daniel A.
Call Number: Online
Native American World by Hightower-Langston, Donna
Call Number: Online
Poverty in America by John Iceland
Call Number: Online
Social Change in America by Bernan Press Staff
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2001

Sport and Culture

Sport Psychology: The Key Concepts by Cashmore, Ernest.
Call Number: Online
Sport and Physical Education: the Key Concepts by Chandler, Timothy John Lindsay. Cronin, Mike. Vamplew, Wray.
Call Number: Online
Sports Culture: An A-Z Guide by Cashmore, Earnest
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2000

We live in a culture in which sports play an important role. The growth in broadcasting, merchandising, iconography and the commercialization of sports has led to an increasing interest in the emerging field of sports culture.This book examines individual issues, people, artefacts, events and organizations in their historical, social and cultural contexts. Coverage is wide-ranging with more than 170 entries.
Latino and African American Athletes Today: A Biographical Dictionary by Porter, David L.
Call Number: Online

Gender, Sex and Culture

Sex in the Ancient World From A to Z by Younger, John G.
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender by Worell, Judith
Call Number: Online
Handbook of Girls' and Women's Psychological Health by Worell, Judith and Goodheart, Carol D.
Call Number: Online

Food, Clothing, and Culture

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: REF/GT2850.E53 2003

ISBN: 9780684805689

Publication Date: 2002-12-17
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Valerie Steele
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2004

Gale Encyclopedias

Gale Ebooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library: GVRL)
Select from the list of reference titles available to CSM through the Gale Virtual Library. Note that some of them are multi-volume books.

Last Updated: Nov 11, 2025 11:56 AM
URL: https://library.collegeofsanmateo.edu/SOCI141
Print Page